Fida Islaih is a poet and editor. Her faith, her experiences and love for nature is the foundation of her poetry. She also loves chocolate and reading. 

Described as an exploration of the process of loving yourself, Blossoming Heart is an indie poetry book featured in the #RamadanReadathon To-Be-Read list.
Describe yourself in 3 words?

Quiet, encouraging, positive.

As a self-proclaimed young Muslim poet, do you have any advice for people like me?
Don’t be afraid to share your story, even if it’s different from other people.
Also, don’t be afraid to explore taboo topics.

What’s the relationship between poetry and your religion like?
Sharing my poetry about Islam has helped shed light on Islam to readers. As for me, writing about Islam has brought clarity.

What do you tend to write poems about and why?
I write about nature, faith, culture and personal experiences. I explore the different emotions I go through.

How long does it take you to write a poem and then to edit it? Is the editing process hard?
Writing a poem takes anywhere from a few minutes to a few days. I don’t edit my poems right away. Sometimes I don’t edit them or give it a couple days before I edit it.

07c25eef0fdbd8fc7acfc8d4166aa20eb84d1b23
Blossoming Heart – Fida Islaih

Blossoming Heart is self-published. How did you find the process and how did you overcome any difficulties?
It takes a lot of discipline and commitment. I had to learn a lot about formatting a book and the publishing process. You have to curate a collection and up to you what you want the cover and title to be.

Finally, what is your favorite line of poetry and why?

It’s hard to pick a favorite, but if I had to choose one from another author if would be “There may be cracks in your ribs, but that’s how the light seeps through.” by McKayla DeBonis. I like it because it reminds me of another similar verse. This line reminds me to appreciate my wounds and that I can heal from them.

One thought on “‘Sharing my poetry about Islam has helped shed light on it to readers.’ || Fida Islaih

Leave a Reply

